# Synod of Alaska-Northwest Minutes of the Special Meeting, April 22, 2013

The meeting was opened with prayer at 5:03pm PDT, 4:03pm AKDT, by Moderator Piper Cartland.

#### Commissioners Present:

Rev. Rhyan Smith	Olympia	Jim Irwin	Central Washington
Ruth Moore	Olympia	CRE Sandra Wagenius	Yukon
Rev. J. Scott Anthony	N. Puget Sound	Rev. Piper Cartland	Yukon
Sarah Beard	N. Puget Sound	Karen Cunningham	Seattle
Rev. Karen Claassen	Inland Northwest	Rev. Dick Erickson	Seattle

Commissioners Absent: Jamie Fiorino Inland Northwest

Executive Presbyters Present: David Dobler, Alaska, Curt Karns, Yukon, G. David Lambertson, Central Washington.

Executive Presbyters Absent: Corey Schlosser-Hall, N. Puget Sound, Scott Lumpsden, Seattle, Sheryl Kinder-Pyle, Inland Northwest, Keith Tanis, Olympia

This was a called meeting and business was limited to the two items on the distributed agenda.

## Item 1 – Governance of Alaska Presbytery. The Synod APPROVED the following resolution:

Resolved, That, the Synod of Alaska Northwest notes with concern that the Presbytery of Alaska, in dismissing six of its congregations, has lost a significant number of its members and leaders, and of its capacity to support mission.

The Synod, properly exercising its responsibility and authority by 'providing encouragement and guidance to its presbyteries and overseeing their work (G-3.0403a)" directs the Presbytery of Alaska, its General Council, committees and staff to continue operating under the Presbytery's Manual of Administrative Operations and its approved budget for 2013, and directs that minutes of all meetings shall be promptly transmitted to the Synod. In these matters only, the General Council and the Committee on Ministry shall act as administrative commissions of the synod. Further,

The Synod, properly exercising its responsibility and authority in "organizing new presbyteries, dividing, uniting, or otherwise combining presbyteries or portions of presbyteries previously existing (G-3.3.0403c)" and recognizing the established covenant relationship between the Presbyteries of Alaska and North Puget Sound directs the General Council of the Presbytery of Alaska, in consultation with the Presbytery of North Puget Sound, to report and propose to the synod, no later than October 31, 2013, a plan and structure for continuing the mission of the Presbytery of Alaska.

## **Designated to the General Council:**

RE Adeline Decastro	TE Henry Fawcett	
RE Vance Sanders	RE Rick Greene	
TE Diane Wonnenberg	TE George Pasley, ex officio, Stated Clerk	
TE Linda Wescott	TE David Dobler, Moderator	
RE Nettie Covaly	TE Joe Bettridge, (expenses of which to be	
TE Bob Carter	born by the synod)	

### **Committee on Ministry**

TE Bob Carter, Moderator **RE Jovce Schultz TE George Pasley RE Jim Bruce RE Harriet Schirmer** 

**TE Henry Fawcett** TE David Dobler, ex officio

**TE Claudia Rowe** 

RE Patti Adkisson

#### Rationale

This solution is a result of discussions among EP David Dobler, Stated Clerks George Pasley and Dean Strong, and Moderator Piper Cartland; with input from OGA. It provides for a constitutional flow of power and authority from the Synod, which now has jurisdiction, to the presbytery entities so they can continue to function until a longer term solution is found. If the churches meet as a presbytery, any votes would be advisory to the General Council, which now holds decision making power. The minutes of the General Council and COM will be addendums to the Synod minutes, as the actions of these ACs will be actions of the Synod.

# 2. 2013 Synod Per Capita Billing – The Synod APPROVED the following resolution:

Resolved, that the Synod's 2013 per capita billing to the presbyteries be based on the presbyteries' reported 2012 membership, less any congregations who were dismissed during the calendar year 2012 who did not or will not, as a result of a dismissal agreement, remit 2013 per capita before the effective date of dismissal.

#### Rationale

The resolution was drafted by the Stated Clerk at the request of Central Washington Presbytery, and is consistent with past practice.

The meeting adjourned at 5:29pm with a closing prayer by the Rev. Karen Claasen.

Rev. Dean R. Strong

Stated Clerk